Artistic Soul–Part 2

Screenshot-99 (2)[4]Screenshot-110 (2)[5]Screenshot-67 (2)[5]

A month followed and the house pretty much stayed the same. The three oldest teens had finals and graduation coming up in a month. They were often at times studying late into the night. Simon didn’t bother with school, now that he was officially a drop out. He kept to his room more and more. His only solitude was his paintings.

Philippe found himself surrounded by his youngest three daughters more and more. Jessica and Julian tried to keep Jennifer entertained and part of their lives. Philippe loved seeing the three together, and often times hung out with them.

Screenshot-100 (2)[3]

He was sitting with them watching as they played video games and realized he hadn’t talked much to Julian lately. “So Jules, how’s school?” He asked.

“Dad, it’s Julie, and school is fine.”

“Since when are you Julie?”

“Since forever dad. Jules is such a guy’s name.”

“It’s your grandfather’s name.”

“Exactly my point.” Julian and Jessica laughed while Philippe stared at her. He named her after his father. “Dad, don’t be such a grouch about it. Its not like he cares, he’s dead.”

“I know, but I named you. Your mom named every single one of your brothers and sisters, but I got to name you.”

“Well, sorry if I hurt you dad, I just like being called Julie.” Julie gave her father a small peck on the cheek before returning to her game.

“How many piercings do you have?” Philippe asked.

“UHG!” Was all that she or Jessica said. They were tired with Philippe’s constant nagging, and questions. They just wanted to play.

Screenshot-162[3]

In the morning Philippe found Julian again, this time eating breakfast. “Don’t you know how to put a shirt on?”

“Don’t you know how to put a pair of sweats on? Geese dad, your boxers have a hole in them.”

Philippe looked down at his boxers and saw the hole. “Fair enough. But still, cover yourself up.”

“I will if you will dad.” Julian replied just before getting up.

Screenshot-166[3]

Outside three of the other teens were out eating breakfast as well. Raymund was clearing his plate fast. “What’s the hurry?” Jessica finally asked.

“Ummm, nothing.” Raymund said quietly.

“You’re not trying to rush off to school to meet up with Mr. Kareem are you?”

“Shhh, keep your voice down.” Raymund whispered. “And yea.”

“Who’s Mr. Kareem?” Jessica asked the two boys.

“An end of the year substitute for Mrs. Styx. Our boy Raymund has been crushing on him. It’s quite funny.”

“Is he gay?” Jessica asked Raymund.

“Sims, I hope so. Cause once I graduate and have my birthday, I am so gonna stalk his ass.” Both Jessica and Raymund giggled. Shayne just looked at his food and scooted it away.

The bus soon after arrived and Raymund was out the door. Followed by the rest of the teens.

Screenshot-168[3]

As soon as the kids were gone and the two got dressed, Kaylynn stopped her husband from going out to the garage to workout. “Excuse me, but where do you think you are going?”

“Working out, why?”

“This place is a mess, and I am tired of being the only one in this house that gives a crap. I want you to start cleaning up.”

“Do I have to?” Philippe whined a bit.

“Phil!” Kaylynn yelled at the response. “You are going to clean this house!”

“Bu –”

“NO! You are to clean the house for once. Now get to it!”

Screenshot-170[3]

Philippe did what was asked of him, even if he mumbled under his breath. He didn’t want to clean the house, that’s why he married Kaylynn. He hated chores. Kaylynn watched him in each room. If he didn’t do something right, she made sure he would. “TUCK IN THE SHEETS!” She yelled at him as he made the bed.

“I know how to make the bed Kay. If you don’t like how I do it, then do it yourself.”

“PHILIPPE!” She yelled in a stern voice.

Philippe looked up and saw Kaylynn staring him down. “Alright, I’ll tuck in the sheets.” Crazy old bat.

Screenshot-191[3]

Upstairs, Simon looked at his latest work and realized what he wanted out of life. He loved his paintings and his sketches. He loved art. It wasn’t until his breakup and his depression did he really see where his passion really lied. He always thought his passion was for clothes and fashion, but it was art. He knew right then he wanted to go to art school.

Screenshot-192[3]

Simon ran out of his room, dropping his paints. He had to tell someone. “DAD!” He yelled. “DAD!”

“In here.” Philippe yelled from his room.

“Dad! I did! I figured it out! I know it!” Simon yelled incoherently.

“Whoa, Simon. Slow down. What did you figure out?”

Screenshot-197

“I want to be an artist.”

“And?” Philippe asked. Simon looked baffled. “Son, you’ve been my artistic little boy since you were a toddler and told Stephanie that her color scheme in her doll house was all wrong.”

“You mean my dollhouse.”

Screenshot-196

“You’re grandmother bought that house for your sister. She bought you the antique fire truck that eventually met the back of my head.”

Simon tried to hide his smile, but couldn’t help but laugh. “Stop laughing. It’s not funny.”

“Sorry.” Simon giggled more, but straightened up. “So can I go to art school?”

Philippe took a long and deep breath, “Get your G.E.D. and I’ll send you to art school in Paris.”

“WHAT! REALLY!?!”

“Yes, really. But you have to get your G.E.D. I’ll sign you up for a test at the end of the school year. You pass it, I’ll send you off to college.”

“Oh my SIMS! Thank you sooooo much!” He hugged his father and ran out the room. Philippe just laughed at his son.

Screenshot-65 (3)[3]

Philippe immediately went to the computer and searched for G.E.D. programs. He found that Simon could take a test the same day as the other three graduate. He signed his son up, hoping that he would have enough time to study.

Screenshot-190[3]

Now that he knew what he wanted out of life, Simon worked harder on his paintings. They were still darker and still had the look of dread and heart ache, but his own aching soul was his muse.

Screenshot-202[3]

After school ended, for the most part everyone went straight home. Shayne did not. He met up with his friends at the bar. They didn’t drink – much. They spent most of the afternoon laughing and playing shuffle board. Mic and his buddy Ricky were the only ones that wanted to hang. “Come on Ricky, we don’t have all day.”

“Take a chill pill Mickey! I’m aiming here.”

“Like you’ll even make the shot. I got you anyways.”

“Screw you.” Ricky said and flung his puck at one of Mick’s, missing it and going into the gutter. Both Shayne and Mick laughed at his attempt.

Screenshot-198[3]

Jessica, also didn’t head straight home. She met a new boy in class named Cory, who asked her over to study. They flirted most of the day. Jessica really liked Cory and she could tell Cory really liked her. For her, he was the first boy that ever liked her. All the boys at school – at least in her class – loved her sister, Julian.

By the end of the night, Cory asked Jessica out.

Screenshot-39 (2)[3]

Back at home, Simon headed out of the house after he noticed a storm coming in. It wasn’t usual for it to rain in Sunset Valley, so he, like the rest of his siblings wanted to witness the phenomenon. He found his sister, Jennifer, out on the swings and decided to join her.

He didn’t swing like she did, instead he just watched her and twisted on the swing. “Jen, what do you think of me going away to school?”

Jennifer turned her head as she came down. She was interested in his question.

“I want to go to art school. Dad says I can, but I have to take a test to get my G.E.D. next month first. I’m really nervous.”

Jennifer slowed down and hopped off the swing. She hugged him and kissed him.

“Thanks. Has anyone ever told you that you’re the best sister in the world?”

She nodded and smiled before going back on the swings.

Screenshot-45 (2)[3]

Simon headed back to the house and found Raymund sipping coffee. “Hey.” He said with a smile.

“Hey.” Raymund replied, gloomy.

“Mind if I join?”

Raymund just shrugged.

Screenshot-50 (2)[3]

“Let me guess, that substitute you like is straight?” Simon asked. He knew Raymund liked a new guy. The walls were thin and he had heard him talk to Shayne about him more than once.

“He’s married.”

“Like the girls always say, their either gay or taken.” Simon laughed at his own joke. “You wanna here some good news?”

Raymund shrugged.

Screenshot-55 (3)[3]

“I’m going to get my G.E.D. and head off to art school in Paris.”

Raymund stared at Simon. He wanted to scream at the kid for leaving him. Yet there was nothing he could do. Simon and him were barely friends. This was the most either had been around each other in a month. “Good for you, Simon.” He finally said. He figured he had to support him.

“I was wondering, could you maybe help me study?” Simon asked. He gulped and waited for the answer.

Raymund smiled, “Of course.”

The rest of the night the two studied in the office.

 Screenshot-60 (3)[3]

Back across town, Shayne ate dinner with his friend Mic. Mic kept staring at his friend, “Dude, why are you so quiet today?”

Shayne laughed, “I’m always quiet Mic. You just never notice over your loud mouth.”

“Ha ha. Very funny. But seriously, your like extra quiet. Why so glum? It’s not you brother or that queer your bunking with?”

Shayne sighed. He had to tell someone, “I saw this chick at the park the other day. She’s not much older than me and I really like her.”

“You get the chick’s name?”

“Nah, I was afraid she would see me as too young for her.”

“Bummer man. I would have gotten at least her name. Hope she’s not taken after your birthday man.”

“Yea me too.”

Screenshot-68 (3)[3]

Shayne headed home and took a long, long bath. He kept thinking about the woman he saw in the park that day. She couldn’t have been much older than him. She looked lost and he had wished he had gotten the balls to go up to her and ask her if she needed help. He felt like an idiot. He smacked his head on the back of the glass tub. He wanted her badly.

Screenshot-63 (3)[3]

Downstairs, Philippe and Kaylynn enjoyed the end of a movie. Philippe looked over to his wife as the loud raindrops outside distracted the quiet and stillness of the house. “Do you think he’ll make it in Paris?” He asked of Simon.

“If he doesn’t screw up, I think he’ll do fine.”

“Good, me too.”

“Do you think  this will make him happy?” Kaylynn asked.

“Something has to.”

And just then the two heard laughter coming from the office. Kaylynn and Philippe turned and smiled. The house was once again peaceful and full of Simon’s laughter. 

2 responses to “Artistic Soul–Part 2

  1. I’m excited for all the change that’s coming. I can’t wait to see Simon in art school. I am also curious about the woman that Shayne likes. Could it be…?

    It was also nice to see the other girls’ personalities come through a bit more. It’s hard to give equal air time to such a large group of people.

Leave a comment